ETIAS: the new visa waiver for the Schengen Area


From 2022, Portugal will become even safer for tourists and residents. The launch of the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) aims to boost border security and further reduce serious crime across Portugal and the rest of the Schengen Area.

ETIAS will be a mandatory entry requirement for visa-exempt third-country nationals soon after it is made available. From this point, all non-EU visitors shall undergo safety screening before entering Portugal or any of the other ETIAS countries.

Currently, travellers from places included on the EU’s list of visa-exempt nations can access the Schengen Area using just a valid passport. While this has provided quick and easy access to Europe, calls for greater security have led to the development of ETIAS.

ETIAS is not a visa, and individuals from visa-exempt nations will continue to enjoy the benefits of visa-free access from 2022 provided they register with the new system.

More information,  click here.

Categories: News

Tagged as: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply